Coffee Chat: How Can You Solve Stress?

What is the number one thing that you do when you’re stressed?

This has been weighing on my mind recently because as summer is approaching, life is getting pretty crazy. Everyone is in a rush to finish the year and get everything done before summer! I am one of those people, but the wild thing is is that I have less than two months until my last day of school. Two months! Not only is there a quickly-approaching deadline to compete with, but there are so many things to do in a short amount of time. Needless to say, I have been more stressed out than usual.

And that’s why I wanted to ask you guys what the best thing to do is whenever life gets a little hectic, in your opinion.

For me, these coffee chats are one of the things that help me feel productive while allowing me to relax, drink my coffee, and just write.

I don’t know if anyone else is like this, but I also have to have something in front of me to watch while I am working on a big project or something like that. Typically, even when I am trying to get blog posts out fast, I put my phone on the corner of my laptop and watch Netflix so that I have background noise and “entertainment” while I am working hard to get things done. A lot of people listen to music, too, and I will occasionally, but I have to be in a certain kind of mood to give up Netflix for my iTunes playlist.

Another thing that I have tried to get into this year to relieve stress has been working out more often. This is something that I need to do more anyways, for obvious reasons, but just a quick half hour workout on the treadmill after lifting can once again help me feel productive while taking my mind off of the workload that I have waiting for me when I get home. Just yesterday, when I had a lot on my plate, I took the time to head to the gym just for a half an hour before heading home, but when I was finished, I ended up accomplishing more than I had in weeks. Maybe working out fuels your creative writing juices!

A lot of advice that I have read before mentions that while working or studying, you should take twenty minute breaks for every hour of work (or something similar to that). Do any of you work like this? Personally, I can’t get anything done this way. If I allow myself to take a twenty minute break, I will get sucked into the Twitter or Instagram vortex and never get back to my work. I’ll also probably start craving food, knowing me, while when I am completely focused on getting stuff done, I have no desire to stop my momentum once I get started. Yesterday, I worked for two hours straight before I even thought of taking a break, but I did get a lot done in those two hours! Once I stopped writing, though, I never got back that night. That’s another reason I need something to watch while I work, to keep me sane while I blow through everything.

I am open to any other advice you have, though, because I think all of us could use a good de-stressor every once in a while to keep us going. I hope the rest of your day is reaxing (yet productive)….

And Don’t Forget to Make It Meghan!

Leave a Reply

