Travel Day: San Juan Island

After a week of new experiences and much-needed time with friends, it was time to head home from our trip to San Juan Island! Although we were having a fantastic time in Washington, I think that the three of us who were flying back to Colorado that day were ready to get home and see our families (and sleep in our own beds)!

This travel day was one of the only days that we had to be up and ready to go early, as we had another four hours of ferry and drive time ahead of us before we would be back at the airport. As exhausted as I was, I slept almost the entire drive back to Seattle, which made the wearing tiring travel day go by much faster.

Pretty soon we were back at the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, but this time, we got to see a little bit more of it! By the time we drove up to the airport and passed through security, which only took about ten minutes (which is amazing for such a huge airport), we had over two hours to wait until our flight was scheduled to depart. That meant that we had over two hours to sit inside the food court at Seattle-Tacoma. And it was giant. One side of this food court is covered entirely in windows, making the space seem even wider, and the other half is made up of with over a dozen different places to eat in the area, a stage for live entertainment, and a big panel up on the wall that manually lists all of the flight times at the airport.

It took forever for us to find an open table in the food court because, as I said, this airport is huge, meaning that there were a ton of people there. It probably took us twenty minutes before we were able to catch someone that was leaving a table that we could swipe. Once we sat down, we crashed, and sat and relaxed and zoned out for at least an hour before any of us stood up to grab lunch. I would love to tell you the name of the performer that was singing the entire time that we were sitting in the food court, but to be honest, we tried to tune him out as possible. I was already feeling stressed (as I always do in airports) because of the sheer number of people that were there in the airport with us, and that cacophony combined with the singing was a too much for me.

Finally, we got up and grabbed Qdoba for lunch, and once we had finished, we sat and played cards at the table until it was time to head to our terminal (and wait some more)! By the time that we got onto our airplane, we were all worn out from sitting around for over six hours between the ferry, the drive, and the airport.

I have to take a moment to mention that we flew Alaskan Airlines there and back, and it is one of the best airlines that I have ever flown. They may not reach as many cities, but the seats are super comfy, there is plenty of leg room, and they still offer complimentary beverages! United does as well, but nowadays, this is a rare luxury on flights. If I ever fly out to visit San Juan Island again, I will fly Alaskan Airlines.

While on the flight, all three of us spent some time drawing our favorite memories from the trip on the napkins that we were provided when the flight attendants handed out snacks. I chose to draw a collage of some of the biggest things that we did while there, such as visiting the lavender farm, climbing around Lime Kiln lighthouse, walking through The Whale Museum, and exploring English/American Camp.

It was a long, long day, but we finally made it back to Colorado. After being without my family for an entire week, which was the longest that I have ever been away from home without my parents, it felt so good to see my mom and dad waiting for me by the baggage claim. And I don’t care if that sounds silly! While my friend’s parents were gracious, there’s nothing more amazing than  getting back home.

Needless to say, once I got back to my own house that night.. I slept like a baby!

What a fantastic end to a wonderful trip! I am so glad that I had the opportunity to experience San Juan Island, especially with all of my best friends.

I hope that all of you enjoyed my posts throughout my journey in Washington. If you did…

Don’t Forget to Make It Meghan!

 

 

Leave a Reply

