Breakfast at The Huckleberry

Just this week me and three friends went out for breakfast at The Huckleberry in downtown Louisville, Colorado. I have been there a few times before, but I have never had the opportunity to write a review of my experience before!

The restaurant itself is pretty quirky overall, and offers a small shop in the front where they sell such things like handmade soap, teapots, mugs, and small home decorations. There is also a bakery in the entrance that sells pies, tarts, and other baked goods. I have never had the chance to try any of them before! It should also be noted that while The Huckleberry serves primarily breakfast and lunch, they are now open for dinner hours during specific days of the week. For the complete list of hours, I will put the website of the restaurant down below. That way, if you’re interested, you can check out the hours and the full menu, as I will only be giving you a glimpse into some of the meal options that they have to offer!

The first thing that I have to say is that you must get huckleberry lemonade to drink if you eat at The Huckleberry. That is a given. You may be tempted to order from the extensive list of teas, and they may bring out fancy teapots with hourglasses so you’ll be able to know how long your tea needs to steep before it is ready, and they might offer cute decorated mugs, but I promise you that you will regret not ordering huckleberry lemonade. You can’t get it anywhere else! It also turns out to be a lovely pinkish-purple color that is irresistible. The best part about the lemonade is that it is super tart, which I think is what makes a perfect lemonade! Somehow, I totally spaced getting a picture of my drink this visit. Duh! You’ll have to trust me when I tell you that they’re super amazing.

 

 

I ordered the mixed berry crepes every time I go, which cannot be healthy at all but are absolutely delicious. The crepes come with a choice of meat and two eggs. I always order egg whites with it, and I think that The Huckleberry makes some of the best eggs. This was the first time I tried their ham, though, and I have to say that I was impressed! The ham was super thick and juicy and I will probably get it again the next time that I eat there. But the crepes are better than any other crepes that I have ordered from a restaurant. They’re made with mascarpone cheese, cream cheese, and vanilla and topped off with a warm berry sauce! Technically, when we went out to breakfast I wasn’t supposed to be eating sweets because I gave them up for Lent. That just goes to show you that you can’t not get the mixed berry crepes when you go The Huckleberry.

The only other dish that I can comment on is the French toast, which is just plain old French toast that costs extra if you want to order the meal with meat and eggs. I didn’t personally purchase it, but my friend let me try a bite of hers and we both came to the came consensus: it was pretty bland. I am not the biggest fan of French toast in the first place, but it didn’t have enough cinnamon and wasn’t sweet enough for my taste. I am definitely glad that I went with the crepes instead, or I think that I would have been disappointed!

While I love the huckleberry lemonade and the mixed berry crepes, I do have just a few complaints about the restaurant as a whole. It took a while for a server to come and greet us! Lately, this has been happening way too often when I go out and I don’t know why that is! I work in a breakfast restaurant, and we are supposed to greet a table within 30 seconds and at least get their drinks started. It took about 7-10 minutes for our server to come over and talk to us, and by then, we were all ready to order our food (which he seemed surprised by, but seriously. Ten minutes). To make up for it though, the food did come out quickly, and I was enjoying spending time with my friends and chatting, but I believe this is still something to take note of. I may be biased as a server though.

Lastly, one “complaint” that I had was the fact that our table was slanted because the floor was crooked. We didn’t notice this until my friend’s water glass suddenly slipped off of the table with no warning, as nobody was touching it and everybody was focused on their food. Needless to say that we made a big mess and somebody had to come and clean up the broken glass off of the floor. It turns out that slanted tables and condensation from water glasses do not mix well, and towards the end of our meal we found another water glass trying to escape. Not the restaurant’s fault, but hilarious all the same. Keep an eye on your water glasses while at The Huckleberry.

As a whole, I think we all really enjoyed our meals! Not only did I have a great time with my friends in the cute restaurant, but we also got to have some yummy food (and lemonade. Don’t forget about the lemonade). Hopefully I’ll get the chance to go back soon, and maybe I’ll be able to try their lunch or dinner options! If you’re ever in Louisville, Colorado, you should definitely check out The Huckleberry for yourself! Eat some great breakfast, enjoy the restaurant…

And Don’t Forget to Make It Meghan!

http://thehuckleberry.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

