Coffee Chat: Let’s Talk About the Movies

Today, a trip to the movie theater can definitely be a hit or miss experience. Between the crazy crowds for new movies, the ridiculous pricing ($5 for a small soda?!), and the general public, often times I come back from seeing a movie in the theater wishing I had just waited until it came out on DVD for me to watch in the peace and quiet of my own home. However, with all of that being said, there still are some things to enjoy about going to the movies!

Last night my friends and I went to see the premiere of the new Beauty and the Beast live action film. The crowds and waiting for a good seat problem that I mentioned above was solved due to the fact that we purchased our tickets through AMC Flatirons Crossing, the only AMC theater around here that offers reserved seating. This way, we only had to show up about twenty minutes before the film started with prime seats!

Because Beauty and the Beast, and most Disney films, are generally geared towards kids, I always worry about disruptive children screaming and crying throughout a movie. It turns out that last night, there were actually more adults and teenagers there than kids (more on that later)! While there were no uncontrolled children running around the theater, we discovered last night that the new thing to do while going to the movie theater is to leave halfway through the movie and then come back using the flashlight on your phone to find your seat. This is definitely distracting, especially after the fifth time that it happened.  This was really the only downside to the entire movie going experience, though, and as long as it doesn’t become a trend, I can still feel like I’m enjoying a movie in peace.

Lastly, one reason why I haven’t been going to the movies as much is because I haven’t seen very many outstanding movies lately! It’s been a while since I’ve seen a movie that was definitely worth seeing while in theaters rather than on DVD. I think that the last movie I saw in theaters was Fences, and while it was an amazing story, I don’t think the fact that I saw it in a theater enhanced my experience. Beauty and the Beast was fabulous on the big screen, and I am so happy that I go the chance to see it when I did! It also helped that due to the fact that it was a premiere, everybody in the theater with us was really into the film and even clapped at the end, which sold the experience for me. Not only do I feel like I could see that exact movie again, but I’m actually excited to go to the theater more often to see movies this summer.

Overall, there are still things to enjoy about going to the theater, but it certainly does help if the movie you are seeing is sooooooo good. It makes your $9 popcorn taste better, too.

A full review of the new Beauty and the Beast live action film will be up soon! I’ll see you there!

And Don’t Forget to Make It Meghan!

 

Leave a Reply

