Coffee Chat: Welcome to Baseball Season!

It’s getting warmer here in Colorado, and the start of warm weather means the start of baseball season! Baseball is probably my favorite sport to watch just because the season means that summer is on its way! I cannot wait for the start of baseball, if only because it allows me to sit out on the bleachers in shorts and a tank top, enjoying the beautiful sunshine and the wonderful sport!

The funny thing is that baseball is only my favorite sport to watch in person. I love heading to Coors Field to watch the Rockies, or just sitting and hanging out at a Legacy High School baseball game, but I cannot stand to watch baseball on TV. As far as entertainment value goes, a baseball game on TV is about as interesting as a golf tournament. But I guess that if the number one reason that I am excited for baseball season is the weather, it makes sense that I would much rather be outside than cooped up on the couch while watching a game.

I grew up in a big baseball family. My grandpa is from California, which means that him and all of my extended family are huge Los Angeles Dodgers fans! If you’re ever in the backseat of my grandpa’s car (which I don’t know why you would be, but just play along), you’ll notice that he doesn’t drive anywhere without his trusty Dodgers baseball cap.

As a Colorado native, I have to stay loyal to the Colorado Rockies, but I will admit that I do own some Dodgers gear, since I am a California girl at heart. My sister and I have even purchased tickets for Rockies Opening Day for this 2017 season, and it just so happens that they are playing the Dodgers! I can’t wait to kick my feet up with a hot dog and Coke and have so much fun at the game!

The other thing that I enjoy about baseball is that I understand the sport completely (well, completely, for the most part). I spend a lot of time going to Legacy High School’s football games and watching NFL games at home, yet I still can comprehend the rules of baseball easier than those of football. Call me crazy, but I have been watching baseball and playing it in the backyard way longer than I have been paying attention to football.  

Baseball is, in truth, not too exciting. Like football, it’s a lot of sitting and waiting with little action. But it is totally worth it just to soak up the sun, relax, and watch a great game!

I just had to rant about baseball in my Coffee Chat this morning because the Legacy High School baseball season technically starts this Thursday, as it is varsity’s first game of the season. All I can say is that I can’t wait, and that I hope the warm weather sticks around through spring, summer, and beyond.

Do you like baseball? What is your favorite part about the season? Stick around for more baseball updates…

And Don’t Forget to Make It Meghan!

Leave a Reply

